Online Talks on ZOOM

***
talks on textile art & culture
**
For recordings of PAST TALKS scroll down
 
***
**

TALK: OCT 30th, Friday

"Migration of Memes - An Exploration through Art & Ikat"

As people groups migrate, they carry with them cultural memes of traditions, foods, music, art etc. Through Ikat textiles we shall explore one such plausible migration of memes.

California: 9am - 9.30am
New York: 12pm - 12.30pm
London: 5pm - 5.30pm
Mumbai Time: 9.30pm - 10pm
Singapore Time 12am - 12.30am (3rd)

***
ZOOM MEETING DETAILS TO BE ADDED SOON

In the past 3 talks we've had 25-30 guests from all over the world - so join in!

***

***
ONLINE TALK - COMING SOON:
"MESSAGE IN A COSTUME - NON-VERBAL MESSAGES CONVEYED THROUGH CLOTHES"
(Date to be Announced)
**
**
ONLINE TALK - COMING SOON:
"MIGRATION OF MEMES - CLUES THROUGH TEXTILE ARTS"
(Date to be Announced)
**
**
ONLINE TALK - COMING SOON:
"THE BLUE VEIL - THE 10kg PERAK HEADDRESS OF LADAKH"
(Date to be Announced)
**
***
ONLINE SHOW & TELL
(Date to be Announced)
Bring in your favorite textile & let's have some fun
Schedule to be announced soon
IF YOU'D LIKE TO SHOW A PIECE FROM YOUR COLLECTION
PLEASE WRITE IN
*
**
 ONLINE INTERVIEW WITH
A TRIBAL TEXTILE ARTIST
(Date to be Announced)
To understand the reasons for giving up their traditional textile arts
Schedule to be announced soon
*
**
ONLINE INTERVIEW WITH
A RESPECTED ANTIQUE TEXTILE COLLECTOR
(Date to be Announced)
"Learning From Legends"
Schedule to be announced soon
***
*
______________________________________________________

RECORDINGS OF COMPLETED TALKS


"Narrative Arts - Phad Textiles of Rajasthan"
(COMPLETED on Oct 2nd, 2020 with 26 guests)
**
*
***
"Tampan Ship Cloths - The Extinct Textile Art of Sumatra"
(COMPLETED on Sep 25th, 2020 with 36 guests)

**
**
"Textile Traditions of Asia"
(COMPLETED on Sep 19th, 2020 with 13 Guests)
*
**

Ancient Astrological Calendar Systems - An Introduction through Art

(COMPLETED on OCT 9th, 2020 with 17 Guests)

RECORDING COMING SOON


*

 
*
***
***