Online Talks on ZOOM

***
talks on textile art & culture
**
For recordings of PAST TALKS scroll down
 
***
**

POSTPONED TALK: Originally planned for Oct 16th, Friday

"Migration of Memes - An Exploration through Ikat Weaving"

As people groups migrate, they carry with them cultural memes of traditions, foods, music, art etc. Through Ikat textiles we shall explore one such plausible migration of memes.

California: 9am - 9.30am
New York: 12pm - 12.30pm
London: 5pm - 5.30pm
Mumbai Time: 9.30pm - 10pm
Singapore Time 12am - 12.30am (3rd)

***
ZOOM MEETING DETAILS TO BE ADDED SOON

NO PASSCODE NEEDED
NO REGISTRATION NEEDED

In the past 3 talks we've had 25-30 guests from all over the world - so join in!

***

***
ONLINE TALK - COMING SOON:
"MESSAGE IN A COSTUME - NON-VERBAL MESSAGES CONVEYED THROUGH CLOTHES"
(Date to be Announced)
**
**
ONLINE TALK - COMING SOON:
"MIGRATION OF MEMES - CLUES THROUGH TEXTILE ARTS"
(Date to be Announced)
**
**
ONLINE TALK - COMING SOON:
"THE BLUE VEIL - THE 10kg PERAK HEADDRESS OF LADAKH"
(Date to be Announced)
**
***
ONLINE SHOW & TELL
(Date to be Announced)
Bring in your favorite textile & let's have some fun
Schedule to be announced soon
IF YOU'D LIKE TO SHOW A PIECE FROM YOUR COLLECTION
PLEASE WRITE IN
*
**
 ONLINE INTERVIEW WITH
A TRIBAL TEXTILE ARTIST
(Date to be Announced)
To understand the reasons for giving up their traditional textile arts
Schedule to be announced soon
*
**
ONLINE INTERVIEW WITH
A RESPECTED ANTIQUE TEXTILE COLLECTOR
(Date to be Announced)
"Learning From Legends"
Schedule to be announced soon
***
*
______________________________________________________

RECORDINGS OF COMPLETED TALKS


"Narrative Arts - Phad Textiles of Rajasthan"
(COMPLETED on Oct 2nd, 2020 with 26 guests)
**
*
***
"Tampan Ship Cloths - The Extinct Textile Art of Sumatra"
(COMPLETED on Sep 25th, 2020 with 36 guests)

**
**
"Textile Traditions of Asia"
(COMPLETED on Sep 19th, 2020 with 13 Guests)
*
**

Ancient Astrological Calendar Systems - An Introduction through Art

(COMPLETED on OCT 9th, 2020 with 17 Guests)

RECORDING COMING SOON


*

 
*
***
***