指南 105 - 材料的建造

艺术品 / 艺术品的建造提供了关于工件时代的最线索。
***
任何艺术品的化妆品表面都有很多,即使是在目前的时候,也可能被复制或伪造,但这一工种需要技能和知识才能复制。 因此,研究建筑是评估艺术品的重要一步。
***
那我们要找什么
***
让我谈谈纺织品。
***
首先要看的是纱线。 是有机纱线还是合成的 合成纱线直到 1900s 中期才开始流行,但这类纱线自 1900s初就一直存在。 因此,虽然亚洲小型社区通常使用的织物是基于有机纤维的,但现在和之后,可以看到在其中有一些合成纱线的旧件。
***
接下来我们看看是手绢还是机器 在手工细纱的情况下,在纱线上存在明显的沉渣或不匀的材料。 如果是这样的话,那就是 "最有可能 " 的手工材料。 ( 我说最有可能是因为我现在听到最近一段时间,一些人只为获得现在的手纺和高价格的精英地位而扔下几个荡妇 ) 。
***
其次,我们看看它是用人手操作的织机 - 手织机 / 徒步织机 / 后皮带编织的 -- 或者它是在机械化的动力织机上编织的。 通过只看最终产品来辨别这一点更难了,因为手工放大的作品可以像机器开花一样完美和精确。
 
***
对于为自我使用而创建的文件 -- 多数部落 / 民间纺织的案例 -- 更多的往往是缺乏完美和精确性 -- 因此,纺织品从来没有完美的对称或完美的平衡。 这通常表明这不是商业上的。
***
请注意,商业制造的纺织品也可以手工制作,在它们中也会有更高的完美程度。
***
然后,如果它有刺绣,可以用手,机器或完全数字化完成。 数码化的是很容易发现的,因为它会有统一的工作。 手工制作的刺绣,在某些地方,总会有一些功能,让个别厂商的灵魂闪亮,错误的,不完整的补丁,不同线的使用,或一些特殊的变异。 有些人认为这些都是 "瑕疵 " - 在我看来,对我来说,这些都是我在任何纺织品中寻求的 " 灵魂 " 的确认书。
***
必须注意的是,并非所有艺术都消失了 ...... 因此,这对于约会那些现在已经不再制造的类别是最有用的。 还有许多人的技能是活的和茁壮成长的,还有一些人正在经历一个缓慢但又有些复兴的过程。
***
 
更多说明
*
 
 
 ***
 

如果您希望了解有关我发布的说明和指南的信息

加入我们的艺术爱好者 / 订户组

*
签名 - 时事通讯 - 古董内部装潢
*

*
古董艺术画廊室内装饰

***

Guide 105 - The Construction of the Material

The construction of the artwork / material of the artwork offers the most clues about the age of the artifact.
***
There are many cosmetic superficial aspects of any artwork that could be reproduced or faked even in current times - but the craft within, requires skill and knowledge in order to replicate it. Therefore examining the construction is an important step in assessing an artwork.
***
So what shall we look for?
***
Let me speak of Textiles.
***
The first thing to look at is the yarn. Is it organic yarn or synthetic. Synthetic yarns did not gain popularity until the mid 1900s but such yarns such as viscose have been around since the early 1900s. So while the commonly used fabric  in small Asian communities has been organic-fibre based, now and then it is possible to see an old piece that has some synthetic yarn in it.
***
 Next we look at whether it was handspun or machine spun. In the case of handspun yarn there is a distinct presence of slubs or uneven lumping of the material on the thread. If this is present then it is 'most probably' handspun material. (I say most likely because I now hear that in the recent times, some throw in a few slubs just to gain the now-elitist status of handspun and fetch higher prices).
***
Next we look at whether it was woven on manually operated looms - handlooms / foot looms / back strap looms - or whether it was woven on mechanised power looms. This is harder to discern by just looking at the end product as manual loomed work can be as perfect and precise as machine loomed work.
 
***
In the case of weavings created for self- usage - which is the case for most tribal / folk textiles - more often than not, perfection and precision are missing - so the textile is never perfectly symmetrical or perfectly balanced. That usually indicates that this was not commercially made.
***
Note that commercially made textiles could also be handmade and will have a higher degree of perfection in them.
***
Then, if it has embroidery, it could be done by hand, or by machine or be completely digitised. The digitised ones are easy to spot as it will have uniform work all over. Handmade embroideries on the other hand will always have some feature in some spot that allow the soul of the individual maker to shine through - a mistake, an incomplete patch, the use of a different thread or some idiosyncratic variation. Some see these as 'flaws' - in my view it is quite the opposite - to me these are confirmations of the 'soul' that I am seeking in any textile.
***
It is important to note that not all arts have vanished .... so this is most useful in dating those categories that are now no longer made. There are many others where the skills are alive and thriving and then there are others which are going through a slow but certain revival.
***
 
MORE NOTES
*
 
 
 ***
 

If you would like to stay informed about notes & guides I publish

JOIN OUR ART LOVER / SUBSCRIBER GROUP NOW

*
Sign up - Newsletter Wovensouls Antique Interior Decor Gallery
*

*
Wovensouls Antiques Art Gallery Interior Decor

***